Tom Petty - An American Treasure (2018) [FLAC] 88
  • Category
    : Music
  • Type
    : Lossless
  • Language
    : English
  • Total size
    : 1.60 GB
  • Date uploaded
    : 05 May ,2024

Tom Petty
An American Treasure (2018)
Contains Album Art & ID Tags



An American Treasure, the first posthumous Tom Petty project, is designed as an aural biography of the late rocker, telling a tale that begins with a Mudcrutch session from 1974, running through the glory of Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers in 1976, and concluding with a live version of "Hungry No More" from 2016, just over a year prior to his tragic 2017 passing. Arriving roughly a year after Petty's death, the timing for An American Treasure makes sense -- he certainly deserved a tribute -- but in strict discographical terms, there didn't seem to be a need for a second career-spanning box set, as he already had 1995's rarity-laden box Playback and a multi-disc The Live Anthology from 2009. Happily, An American Treasure offers a story that's not told on either previous set, and that's a complete picture of Petty's career, told entirely through byways, not highways. The compilers -- a team consisting of his widow Dana, daughter Adria, bandmates Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench, plus longtime producer Ryan Ulyate -- made a conscious decision not to replicate any material from Playback, which meant that there wasn't room for the original hit versions of any of Petty's hits. Ultimately, this meant that many of his best-known songs are nowhere to be found on An American Treasure, but that winds up as a feature, not a bug. In the absence of "American Girl," "Refugee," "The Waiting," and "Free Falling," the spotlight shifts to the remarkable consistency of Tom Petty's catalog, which is represented through deep cuts, alternate takes, live versions, and unheard songs. Upon first glance at the track listing, it may seem like there's not a treasure trove of unheard material, but as An American Treasure plays, what becomes clear is that the bigger picture counts more than the individual details. Not that the box doesn't serve up some unexpected surprises from all eras: an alternate "Rebels" has a muscle lacking on the original version, Echo generates two fine rarities in "Gainesville" and "I Don't Belong," the plaintive outtake "Don't Fade on Me" could've fit onto Wildflowers with no problem. It's fun to cherry-pick these tracks, but An American Treasure carries a greater resonance by demonstrating how Petty kept growing through the years, not only as a songwriter but a performer; some of the best moments are hearing him sing older songs later in his career. The trick An American Treasure pulls off is weaving these latter-day performances into the place where the songs were originally written, so this not only provides a narrative but also gives a sense of continuity, which is a rare thing in a decades-spanning box like this. As such, this box winds up as a fitting tribute to a rocker whose touch was so casual, he could be easy to take for granted, but when his work is looked at as a whole, he seems like a giant.



CD 1 - 1970s
01. Surrender (Outtake, 1976)
02. Listen To Her Heart (Live At The Record Plant, 1977)
03. Anything That's Rock 'N' Roll (Live At Capitol Studios, 1977)
04. When The Time Comes
05. You're Gonna Get It (Alternate Version, 1978)
06. Radio Promotion Spot
07. Rockin' Around (With You)
08. Fooled Again (I Don't Like It) (Alternate Version, 1976)
09. Breakdown (Live At Capitol Studios, 1977)
10. The Wild One, Forever
11. No Second Thoughts
12. Here Comes My Girl (Alternate Version, 1979)
13. What Are You Doing In My Life (Alternate Version, 1979)
14. Louisiana Rain (Alternate Version, 1979)
15. Lost In Your Eyes (Outtake, 1974)

CD 2 - 1980s
01. Keep A Little Soul (Outtake, 1982)
02. Even The Losers (Live At Rochester Community War Memorial, 1989)
03. Keeping Me Alive (Outtake, 1982)
04. Don't Treat Me Like A Stranger
05. The Apartment Song (Demo, 1984)
06. Concert Intro (Live At The Forum, 1981)
07. Kings Road (Live At The Forum, 1981)
08. Clear The Aisles (Live At The Forum, 1981)
09. A Woman In Love (It's Not Me) (Live At The Forum, 1981)
10. Straight Into Darkness (Alternate Version, 1982)
11. You Can Still Change Your Mind
12. Rebels (Alternate Version, 1985)
13. Deliver Me (Alternate Version, 1982)
14. Alright For Now
15. The Damage You've Done (Alternate Version, 1987)
16. The Best Of Everything (Alternate Version, 1985)
17. Walkin' From The Fire (Outtake, 1984)
18. King Of The Hill (Early Take, 1987)

CD 3 - 1990s
01. I Won't Back Down (Live At The Fillmore, 1997)
02. Gainsville (Outtake, 1998)
03. You And I Will Meet Again
04. Into The Great Wide Open (Live At Oakland-Alameda Coliseum Arena, 1991)
05. Two Gunslingers (Live At The Beacon Theatre, 2013)
06. Lonesome Dave (Outtake, 1993)
07. To Find A Friend
08. Crawling Back To You
09. Wake Up Time (Alternate Version, 1992)
10. Grew Up Fast
11. I Don't Belong (Outtake, 1998)
12. Accused Of Love
13. Lonesome Sundown
14. Don't Fade On Me (Alternate Version, 1994)

CD 4 - 2000s
01. You And Me (Clubhouse Version, 2007)
02. Have Love Will Travel
03. Money Becomes King
04. Bus To Tampa Bay (Outtake, 2011)
05. Saving Grace (Live At Malibu Performing Arts Center, 2006)
06. Down South
07. Southern Accents (Live At Stephen C. O'Connell Center, 2006)
08. Insider (Live At Stephen C. O'Connell Center, 2006)
09. Two Men Talking (Outtake, 2012)
10. Fault Lines
11. Sins Of My Youth (Early Take, 2012)
12. Good Enough (Alternate Version, 2012)
13. Something Good Coming
14. Save Your Water
15. Like A Diamond (Alternate Version, 2002)
16. Hungry No More (Live At House Of Blues, Boston, 2016)


Support the artists...
Buy it if you like it!

Sharing since 2010
Thanks for Seeding!
Cheers ;)

Tom Petty - An American Treasure (2018) [FLAC] 88

CD 1 - 1970s

CD 2 - 1980s

CD 3 - 1990s

CD 4 - 2000s